Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Introducing the 2010 Cropper Foundation workshop writers

hop skip jump detail

Detail of Hop Skip Jump, from the Tropical Night series (2006–), by Christopher Cozier

On Friday 9 July, 2010, at 7.00 pm, Alice Yard will host a reading by participants in the 2010 Cropper Foundation Caribbean Writer’s Workshop.

This year is the tenth anniversary of the workshop, which is sponsored by the Cropper Foundation and organised in partnership with the Departments of Creative and Festival Arts and Liberal Arts of the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine. The workshop will assemble thirteen poets and fiction writers from across the Caribbean for nearly three weeks of intense writing and discussion at the Jammev Estate in Toco.

The 2010 workshop will be steered by writers Merle Hodge and Funso Aiyejina, along with James Christopher Aboud, Elizabeth Walcott-Hackshaw, Philip Nanton, Ian Randle, and Earl Lovelace.

Many of the current group of writers are already published authors and prizewinners:

= Andre Bagoo
= Christine Barrow
= Shakirah Bourne
= Abinta Clarke
= Yarisa Colon-Torres
= Keon Francis
= Danielle Boodoo-Fortune
= Desiree MacEachrane
= Phillip Murray
= Alake Pilgrim
= Shivanee Ramlochan
= Colin Robinson
= LeShanta Roop

Participants will read selections from their current work in progress. This is an opportunity to meet and hear from talented and promising members of the next generation of Caribbean writers.

All are invited.

1 comment:

hbynoe said...

looks like a fantastic opportunity