Tuesday, October 28, 2014

2014 Alice Yard Prize for Art Writing shortlist

The judges for the 2014 Alice Yard Prize for Art Writing have chosen a shortlist of five writers.

The prize, inaugurated in 2014, is an annual award for an original piece of critical writing on contemporary Caribbean art by a Caribbean writer aged 35 or under. The five finalists, selected from the prize entrants, are:

Katherine Kennedy (Barbados)
Stephen Narain (Bahamas/US)
Brandon O’Brien (Trinidad and Tobago)
Aiko Maya Roudette (St Vincent and the Grenadines/US)
Nicole Smythe-Johnson (Jamaica)

Established by Alice Yard, the prize aims to encourage new writing on Caribbean art and artists, and to identify emerging voices in contemporary Caribbean art criticism. The winner, who will be announced in November 2014, will receive a cash award of US$1,000 and publication in The Caribbean Review of Books.

The 2014 judges for the Alice Yard Prize for Art Writing are:

Krista Thompson (Bahamas/US), chair
Art historian and curator
Associate professor of art history, Northwestern University

Charles Campbell (Jamaica/Canada)
Artist and curator

Courtney J. Martin (US)
Art historian and curator
Assistant professor of the history of art and architecture, Brown University

The Alice Yard Prize for Art Writing is conceived and established by the co-directors of Alice Yard, Sean Leonard, Christopher Cozier, and Nicholas Laughlin, who will administer the prize and support the panel of judges in their deliberations.

No comments: